Conversion rate: Definition - Google Ads Help (2024)

The average number of conversions per ad interaction, shown as a percentage.

  • Conversion rates are calculated by simply taking the number of conversions and dividing that by the number of total ad interactionsthat can be tracked to a conversion during the same time period. For example, if you had 50 conversions from 1,000 interactions, your conversion rate would be 5%, since 50 ÷ 1,000 = 5%.
  • If you're tracking more than one conversion action, or you choose to count "Every" conversion, your conversion rate might be over 100% because more than one conversion can be counted for each interaction.
  • Use conversion tracking in your account to measure your conversion rates and ultimately use them to help guide your advertising decisions.

About conversion tracking

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Conversion rate: Definition - Google Ads Help (2024)

FAQs

Conversion rate: Definition - Google Ads Help? ›

The average number of conversions per ad interaction, shown as a percentage. Conversion rates are calculated by simply taking the number of conversions and dividing that by the number of total ad interactions that can be tracked to a conversion during the same time period.

How does Google Ads define conversion? ›

An action that's counted when someone interacts with your ad or free product listing (for example, clicks a text ad or views a video ad) and then takes an action that you've defined as valuable to your business, such as an online purchase or a call to your business from a mobile phone.

What does a 1% conversion rate mean? ›

On the first day of the ad running, 100,000 users see the ad, 1,000 users click the ad. From here we can calculate how well that ad is converting by taking the 1,000 clicks (conversions) and dividing that by the total number of views (interactions): conversion rate = 1,000 / 100,000 = .01, or 1%

Does conversion rate help SEO? ›

Third, conversion rate monitoring can help you unearth potential traffic sources outside of SEO. By looking at which pages and content are regularly converting users, you can identify potential sources of traffic and look into optimization initiatives in these sources.

How do you explain conversion rate? ›

A conversion rate records the percentage of users who have completed a desired action. Conversion rates are calculated by taking the total number of users who 'convert' (for example, by clicking on an advertisem*nt), dividing it by the overall size of the audience and converting that figure into a percentage.

How does Google define conversion rate? ›

Conversion rates are calculated by simply taking the number of conversions and dividing that by the number of total ad interactions that can be tracked to a conversion during the same time period.

What is a good Google Ads conversion rate? ›

The average conversion rate for Google Ads is 3.75%. If you want to build a good conversion rate for your Google Ads campaigns, go for a conversion rate higher than 5.31%. For perspective, the top 25% of companies advertising with Google Ads maintain a conversion rate of 11.45%.

Why improve conversion rate? ›

Boosting your website's conversion rate can generate more sales from the same amount of traffic and lead to a higher return on investment (ROI). By streamlining user journeys toward conversion you can also build a better experience for your visitors.

Is conversion rate a good KPI? ›

The conversion rate is a crucial KPI not only for your PPC campaigns but also for your website and landing page performance. Here's all the information you need about this KPI, what it is, why it's important, how to calculate it, and way more!

What is a key benefit of increasing your conversion rate? ›

If your bounce rates drop, you may have a better chance at outranking your competition. Additionally, if your conversion rates increase, you may find that your website traffic, social media activity, and overall popularity online all increase as well.

Does conversion rate matter? ›

Conversion rates provide critical insights into the effectiveness of a campaign, website, or sales funnel, making them especially useful for marketers.

What is a good rate for conversion rate? ›

In fact, a “good” website conversion rate falls between 2% and 5% across all industries. Industry-specific conversion rates vary quite a bit more. Some industries, like industrial equipment, have very low-performing websites.

How do you interpret conversion rate? ›

The conversion rate describes the relationship between visits/clicks on a website to conversions. A conversion is the process of a potential customer becoming an actual customer. Conversions can consist of purchases or downloads.

How are conversions attributed in Google Ads? ›

About the different attribution models

Last click: Gives all credit for the conversion to the last-clicked ad and corresponding keyword. Data-driven: Distributes credit for the conversion based on your past data for this conversion action.

How do Google Ads count conversions? ›

You set the software sales conversion action to count every conversion and the lead conversion action to count one conversion. If a click on your ad leads to 2 sales and 2 leads, you will see 3 conversions—one for each sale, and one for the unique lead.

How to determine conversion value in Google Ads? ›

It refers to the monetary value associated with a website action, such as a sale or lead. This metric is calculated by dividing the total number of conversions by the total number of clicks or other interactions with an ad.

How does Google Ads optimize for conversions? ›

Google AdWords is a Search Engine Marketing (SEM) platform that allows advertisers to drive as many conversions as possible by bidding on keywords. By defining bids at the keyword level, advertisers can achieve conversions at or below a specified Cost-Per-Conversion (also known as a cost per action, or simply, CPA).

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